Studying in China

 

School of Chinese as a Second Language, Peking University

Today was the first day of my class for the Peking University Chinese Language Summer School. My program is six weeks long. Yesterday, I received my books for both comprehensive and spoken Chinese (with 12 lessons each). I was classified under the ‘elementary’ level, which comes second after the ‘basic’ level.

 

The lesson was relatively simple but challenging. It was simple since most of the words used in the class are familiar to me. There were new words, too, which makes the class a learning experience. The teachers have some expectations, which is natural. We are at the second level. The basics must be a breeze.

What was challenging is that the entire class was conducted in Chinese. I had to take in context cues in order to understand the instructions and sentences. But I guess it would take some time to get used to it and to adjust. I have not really used my basic knowledge of Chinese in everyday conversation.

Another interesting development is that my Chinese name is fully used here. Though I usually introduce myself as Robert, in class I am called as Wú Ānpíng or Ānpíng. The not-so-big problem is that I barely respond to it. So I guess, in the course of this study for six weeks, I will get used to it.

Anyway, that’s all for now. More tomorrow.

 

Peking University at 7:30 pm

 

Studying in China

Leave a Reply

